Hello and Welcome

about

Hi! How are you? My name is Sophie. Welcome to Wofie Claire. Let me introduce myself.

First and foremost, I am a friend, a daughter and a sister. I am also a classmate, a neighbour, a leader, a follower, a teacher, an artist, a contemplator, a stranger and very many other things, some of which I know and some of which I have yet to discover.

I am a huge classical music fan (some facts: I sing in the National Youth Choirs of Great Britain; I play piano to about diploma standard; I know a lot of viola jokes), but I love modern music too. I’m currently learning how to use music software (think synthpop and singer-songwriting) alongside more ‘traditional’ composition.

I like food – both the cooking and the eating bit of it (some more facts: I am a hypocritical pescatarian; one day I will master pistachio macaroons; my dream is to absorb at least some of the knowledge of my mother’s cooking – she is the best chef I know). Balance is key; food has to nourish the soul as well as the body. My adventures in cooking are to be documented here, as well as some more fail-safe recipes that I love.

I have a lot of thoughts. Most of them are unoriginal/pizza-related but hopefully some show a decent level of compassion for the world. I’m British-American, so this gives me some insight into recent events, but I also like to read whatever I can get my hands on. This is mostly news articles and blog posts but I’m also in the middle of reading Jim Al-Khalili’s excellent book on extraterrestrial life and Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things. I love to learn and though my knowledge of the world is small, it is growing little by little. Sometimes these thoughts are big, and sometimes these thoughts are small. Hopefully both kinds are important. I’d like to use this space to respectfully share some of my thoughts (and inevitable mistakes) – and to hear yours in return.

I am a wanderer. I’ve been lucky enough to travel to many places around the globe and around my hometown. Both are revelatory. I’ve never been the kind of person to sit on a beach for a week – I like to explore, to hike, to try (and often fail at and then try again) new things, to communicate in new languages, to eat new foods. That said, the beauty of returning to the same coffee shop or the same local park is important too. Both routine and adventure can be deeply purposeful or have no purpose at all.

Hopefully Wofie Claire will be a place to share all of these interests, to have insightful discussions, to make mistakes, to talk about the big thoughts and the small thoughts. About body confidence, equality, current affairs and beauty routines, walnut cake recipes, books. Thank you so much for coming with me.

Leave a Reply

